Embarrassing Things that Happened to Me in 2015

Mixed up my coworkers who have the same first name or similar hair (and didn’t recognize some people I’ve met multiple times)

Got on the subway going the wrong way, switched to correct line, was so lost in my own thought that I missed my stop by TWO stations, switched again, finally got off at the right place, and got lost. Was 20 minutes late to a half-hour appointment

Came dead-last in a casual axe-throwing tournament, was too bad at it for the instructor to give me advice for improvement

Facebook arguments

Left my bag checked an event, left the event, was about to get on the subway when I remembered

Ignored people at a party to blog angrily about superheroes

Started but completely stopped going to the gym

Loud, extended crying over the phone – in a Second Cup

Bought my 7th copy of Frankenstein

Verbal diarrhea

Nearly died after inhaling a cookie laughing at something on Parks & Rec

Coworkers astonished and slightly offput by my knowledge of sci-fi (which is like, the least intense genre for my geek love, although it’s ahead of video games)

Celebrity crushes

Dragging my mom to see a figure skating show because no one else would come with me NO you know what, that was awesome

Got some trivia questions wrong

Cut my hand trying to close a standing banner because I was doing it super wrong. Continued to injure my hand throughout December for some reason

Bought Penny Dreadful magnets, maybe the most useless thing I’ve ever spent money on (#noregrets)

Apparently miscommunicated with the person leading a Ghost Walk, ended up missing it after organizing my whole birthday around it (I state again that I am 24)

Broke my favourite mug at work by inadvertently smashing it against the counter. The replacement I bought briefly disappeared after I accidentally left it in the kitchen for a couple of hours (it was returned)

Got a bunch of wrong-number texts because the dude who used to have my phone number never updated anyone, and the ridiculousness hit its apex when a stranger texted me a picture of his dog without comment, so I said he had the wrong number but asked if I could pet the dog, and he called me angrily so I had to explain all of this to him over the phone

But some cool things happened in 2015 too.

Jason Loo’s The Pitiful Human-Lizard, which I edit, is now being published by Chapterhouse Comics. I wrote some mini-comics for the series, and started working editing (and writing for) The Toronto Comics Anthology Vol. 3, due out in 2016. I became the Art & Lit editor at Paper Droids.

I got a new job and new glasses.

I went on awesome trips to Seattle and Montreal and Los Angeles with fabulous friends.

Avengers: Age of Ultron (B) and Star Wars: The Force Awakens (A+++) weren’t horrible disappointments like The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies (F—) was in 2014. I really liked It Follows, Mad Max: Fury Road, Inside Out, What We Do in the Shadows, The Witch, and Magic Mike XXL. I didn’t see Tangerine, Sicario, Clouds of Sils Maria, Spring, or Ex Machina but I would like to. I wanted to like Crimson Peak more than I did. I marathoned all 3 Lord of the Rings movies in one sitting for the first time with another superfan and cried a lot about hobbits.

(Edited to add: I also loved Jupiter Ascending and I won’t apologize for it).

I saw some cool shows including The Roots, The Fratellis, Possible Worlds, 3 Beckett plays, Guillermo Del Toro give a lecture on the Gothic, and Marvel Universe Live (IT’S FOR GROWN-UPS TOO). I sang in a drop-in choir and painted a picture.

I made a point of reading some biographies this year – I enjoyed them and learned a lot. Some of my favourite books that I read this year were Wagner the Werewolf by George W. M. Reynolds, The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories by Angela Carter, The Hair Wreath and Other Stories by Halli Villegas, Posthumous Keats by Stanley Plumly, The Girl With All the Gifts by M.R. Carey, In Cold Blood by Truman Capote, The Song of the Lark by Willa Cather, and Hangsaman by Shirley Jackson.

I liked iZombie, Gravity Falls, Orange is the New Black, Brooklyn Nine-Nine, Steven Universe, Rick & Morty, and the 2 Marvel Netflix shows, but I liked Penny Dreadful most of all.

I made new friends who are unreasonably talented – seriously the comics talent in Toronto blows my mind – as well as being kind and smart and supportive.

I was published on The Toast and one of my blog posts here, on crediting artists in comics criticism, went viral on Twitter and appeared on Freshly Pressed (my second time!).

And even though I sucked at it, axe-throwing was kind of amazing.

Here’s to 2016. I’m going to keep learning (starting with some basic coding and then some tech and design) and try to keep a more generally positive/glass-half-full outlook. I’m going to get back to the gym, and have my name on my first comics anthology. I’m gonna kick 2016’s ass and not let it kick mine.

I hope that your 2015 was more up than down, and that 2016 is even better.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Keep up the “good work”.

    Reply
  2. Tech and coding, whaaat. You could end up working here.

    Reply
  3. Sounds like a pretty good year – after all, no year complete without some embarrassing moments. Hope 2016 surpasses all your hopes and dreams!

    Reply
  4. you seriously liked penny dreadful!! and i thought it was dreadful!!

    Reply
  1. Embarrassing Things that Happened to Me in 2015 | gangporemirror

Leave a Reply

