11 Questions – Liebster Nomination

WordPress user alyssabethancourt nominated me for a Liebster! Wow! I’m late on this, so I’m just going to answer the questions that were posed to me and leave it at that:

1. What is your favorite book, and why do you love it?

Frankenstein probably takes that cake (although Les Misérables and Lord of the Rings are up there too). I’m a bit obsessed with the second generation Romantics, and I love how steeped in that tradition the novel is. I love that a lady wrote it. I love that every time I read it, I discover new motifs, new images, new questions to ask. I engage with it on a different level every time I read it, and I’ve read a number of different adaptations and interpretations (to say nothing of the films, many of which I also love). There’s so much going on in that book and I love unpacking it in a different way every time I read it.

2. What book did you chuck across the room (or want to chuck across the room) because it was so terrible?

People will hate me for this, but the last time I can remember being aggressively angry at a book for being bad was the first book in the Dresden Files series (I don’t remember the title but I’m not even going to look it up). I think the issue wasn’t so much that it was terrible, but that people had been telling me how great it was for years, which made it seem more egregious – that said, it’s one of few books I put down halfway through and never again picked up. I love anti-heroes, but I found Dresden so far from likeable (especially in his interactions with women) that I gave up reading his smarmy internal dialogue. I wanted the series, if it wasn’t good, to at least be readable, but it ended up reading like a shitty watered-down Hellblazer without any of the charm that makes that series’ protagonist likeable.

3. What common word or expression drives you up the wall every time you hear it?

Any permutation of “Menism” or other MRA bullcrap. There are so many men’s rights issues that should be addressed – the rarity that fathers get custody of their children, the wage gap between white men and men of colour, and the unwillingness of society to acknowledge male victims of sexual assault – but these guys are too worried about having to pay for a woman’s dinner or hold the door open that any actual problems that men face get completely drowned out. Men’s Rights Activists will argue that they should be allowed to hit women. That’s messed up. Feminism attempts to dismantle the flawed system that is the source of problems for women and men so we should be working together to create a new system that’s truly equal, and stop giving any of our attention to these GamerGate manchildren.

4. If you could live with any kind of pet, assuming as given all of the necessary permits, supplies, housing, training, cleaning crew, etc. to make it happen, what animal would that be?

A bulldog. I love dogs so, so much so I really just want to live with dogs forever. Bulldogs (French and English, equally adorable) have a lot of health problems, so I don’t know if I could get one from a breeder unless I felt like they were bred to avoid common issues, but even then I’ll probably end up rescuing a dog when I am able to take care of one.

5. Ideal vacation: go.

I can’t find it now, but I found a bike trip through the Alps from Chamonix to Geneva, which would be scenic and also be a route taken in Frankenstein, so that’s cool. I don’t know that I have one ideal vacation though… I want to go back to England and the UK, I want to visit Australia and New Zealand (Hobbiton!!), I want to go to New York Comic Con, I’d love to see authentic Dia de los Muertos celebrations in Mexico (if actual Mexicans invited me to participate, of course). I like traveling.

6. Where do you come down on the all-important chocolate vs. vanilla question?

Chocolate. It’s the most delicious.

7. What musical instruments do you, or would you like to play?

I sing, and yes that counts. I’ve been singing ever since I was a kid, doing musical theatre and I directed an a cappella choir in university. It was more of a social club but we had a good time, and from what I’ve seen my girls are a million times better now, and I couldn’t be prouder of them.

8. Do you think dolls are cute or creepy?

CREEPY. You’ve probably heard of Annabelle by now (the real doll was way spookier than the film version) but have you heard of Robert the Doll? I love spooky things, but creepy dolls makes me poop my pants.

9. What particular smell never fails to evoke a specific fond memory for you?

Probably baking? It says holidays and nice times and nice things. Baking means friends and family. So I love that stuff.

10. Have you ever cosplayed, or would you ever? As what?

Lots of times! The one I’ve worn most is still my Scarlet Witch, of which I’ve shared pics before, but if you’re curious, here’s a great gallery of a photoshoot I did with Hey Bad Cat Studios. One of my cosplay goals for 2015 is Cruella De Vil!

11. Do you think you would have made a dashing pirate, and what would your pirate name have been?

Oh I would have, and my name would have been my own.

—-

So that’s that – if you have any questions you’d like to ask, please do! Now that I’m writing for other sites, I don’t this blog as much to express my many, many opinions, but I still have them and I still will share them from time to time.

One more new and hilarious thing that’s new in my life – I am now cited on the Hellblazer Wikipedia page. So even if I’ve neglected this space, something good came of me rambling on elsewhere on the internet.

As always, follow me on Twitter and like me on Facebook for more frequent updates on my life. I’ve also got Instagram if that’s more your jam.

May 2015 bring you all productivity in your work and fulfillment in your personal relationships.

And hopefully more than 2 updates on this blog?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. This show was not bad

    Reply

Leave a Reply

