2013 in Review

Hey folks

This has been a wild and often-crappy year for me; job applications and subsequent rejections, sickness and death in the family, a terrible, terrible summer service job, stress-induced illness, Hellblazer ended… I’m ready for 2014. Hopefully next year will bring less stress and some new job prospects huh? And hopefully fewer news stories about sexism in the geek community – have you heard about Brian Wood? Or Scott Lobdell? Or the Cartoon Network cancelling Young Justice because more girls watch it than boys? Ahh ain’t life grand?

On my end, I’m still writing reviews and such, with sights set on a few more online opportunities. I’ll always keep the “My Writing Elsewhere” page up to date, if you want more of me when I’m not posting, and I try to remember to link to everything I write on my Twitter, @AllisonMOToole. I’ve got links to Twitter and my newly created Instagram account in my sidebar for those interested.

There was some awesome stuff this year though; I graduated from university and I did quite a bit of traveling….

Lake MeadAnyway, everyone’s publishing their Best-Ofs for the year, so my highly subjective picks:

Favourite Film: 12 Years a Slave. I had more fun watching many other films this year, but I can’t ignore this one. Chiwetel Ejiofor’s performance, especially enhanced by McQueen’s direction, is often immensely hard to watch, but it can’t be denied that it is an incredible film. Aside from my obvious white-guilt response, Solomon Northrup is played with such an incredible degree of pathos and even dignity in his worst moments that you can’t help but be affected by his story. I can’t remember the last time I left a theatre feeling so emotionally drained.

Favourite TV: Hannibal. A gorgeous horror show built on relationships. Everything I want from a story, with fabulous performances all-around. Just great TV that proves that the network can still churn out quality programming in the age of AMC and HBO.

Favourite Music: The National’s Trouble Will Find Me. I never get sick of listening to this album, with its complex layering and Berninger’s luscious baritone on in full force. And this is weird to say but the melodies on this one are just spectacular. Wonderful album. Second place is Franz Ferdinand’s Right Thoughts, Right Words, Right Action, but not because it was an especially stand-out album – I was just excited that they’re releasing music again.

Favourite Comic: Saga. Even with the hiatus, there hasn’t been one issue that was disappointing on the level of characters, story, or art. It’s got relatable, believable (and diverse!) characters with very human stories amidst all of the gleeful sci-fi weirdness. There were so many great series this year that this decision was nearly impossible to make, but Saga is the series I can most confidently recommend to anyone, regardless of taste – even to people who don’t read comics.

And that’s that, I guess. Happy holidays to those celebrating, and have a safe and happy New Year.

Cheers to 2014.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

